Why You Can’t Find The Answer

My girlfriend and I got together to watch a movie at her house. She put the DVD in and hit a button. The playback didn’t go as planned. Some weird information came up on the screen.

My friend got flustered. “I don’t know what to do,” she said. She kept pressing buttons but nothing made sense. Finally I suggested she call customer service.

“But this is a problem with the TV, not the satellite,” she said dismissively.

“But Dish works with your TV. Just give them a call. All they can do is say no.”

My friend kept pressing buttons and looking through her Dish manual. “I don’t know what to do,” she said. I suggested twice more that she call the Dish customer service people.

Then the TV began loading the channels. “What’s it doing?” she asked in a panic.

“It’s loading the channels,” I said. “Just let it do its thing.”

“But it says it’s analog. We haven’t had analog in years!” She clicked out of the loading screen. “I don’t know what to do!” she cried.

Finally, she went next door and got her neighbor to come over. He got the satellite to start loading the channels.The bit with the analog came up again. “But we haven’t had analog in years,” my friend said nervously.

“Just let it do its thing,” he advised. She did and the channels came back on the screen. “Well, look at that,” she said to me. “You were right.”

When you can’t find the answer, it usually has very little to do with the problem and everything with how you perceive the problem, and yes, the people around you.

The answers are there, but it’s really hard to hear them when you’ve decided none of the answers you’ve been given could possibly work.

Leave a Reply

